February 8, 2007

Silver Jubilee!

Posted in English, Reflections at 4:48 pm by Rou...

Yesterday was my birthday… I became 25…

Can you imagine the number…? 25 years old…!

Yes… the same number they proudly talk about in huge events saying words such as: “In celebration of the Silver Jubilee of bla bla bla…”

I was so depressed the day before yesterday to the extent of putting my mobile phone on the silent mode just for the sake of not answering any greeting calls… Even when my mother woke me up early in the morning to greet me with a smiley happy birthday wish… I felt like… “Hey… I don’t want anybody to mention my age now! I cannot really understand how anybody can celebrate spending this number alive…!”

In the middle of the day, my cousin called me for the same reason… and through the call he asked me how old I became… I laughed asking him not to remind me with the quarter of century that I reached… something really depressing I said…

My day at work wasn’t really that nice with the everlasting meetings and the dozens of “To Do” lists… But, what’s new about this I thought…

At 7 pm I reached home, and then had a very special outing afterwards…

I must confess that it was only then that I realized how wrong I was thinking from the beginning of the day…

I realized that throughout those 25 years I have accomplished many of the things that many strive for…

I was raised in a wonderful family…

I was very well educated…

My personality was formed along the way… and nobody forced his way into forming it…  

I found love along the way… was hurt once or twice… but never lost faith in it…

I reached a very good step in my career for such a young age they say…

And the best part is that… Yes, I’m 25… but I still feel deep inside like I’m 21… sometimes even 19… I’m never convinced that I’m getting any older…

As I thought of all this I realized that I have reached what many people cannot reach or feel in their lives even in a much older age… and I felt glad…

Why should I ever complain of growing up in age as long as I keep my soul as young as ever…?

 

February 8th, 2007

On the mind of a 25 years old girl, J

Rou…

 

Leave a Reply

