February 26, 2007

Looking Back… Looking Forward…

Posted in English, Reflections at 4:47 pm by Rou...

“Good-byes make you think… They make you realize what you’ve had, what you’ve lost and what you’ve taken for granted…”  

I read this quote a long time ago, but as if it was the first time for me to understand it the past few days…

I miss LinkDotNet… I miss MIS team… although I didn’t complete even one year of my life there, and although at some point I was dying to leave it… but… I really miss it there…

On my way to work in the last day, I had that thought in my mind while driving…

The thought that I won’t drive this road again daily…

The thought that the very next day I will be driving in the opposite way… to go to a workplace where I know nobody and nobody knows me…

The thought that I will be leaving behind the people I love and feel myself with…  

The funny thing is that what I miss the most now are those tiny little things that created together my daily life scenarios…

Things like the morning Nescafe in the eating area…

Things like the walk to metro market at least once a day to bring something to eat, or even to just have a walk…

Things like the meaningless wicked smile that finds its way to the corner of my mouth every time I understands a hidden meaning in a normal conversation, then turns with a look to Mona and see in her smiling eyes that she got the same meaning too…

Things like writing Mona something on an msn chat, then moving back with my chair to have a view of her facial expression while reading what I wrote…

Things like the everlasting hysterical laughs in those nights we had to stay working late…

But, most of all I miss the family environment; the “Feels like Home” feeling I used to have there to the extent of revealing that child in me in all times and all situations…  

On my last day there, Mona told me something that rang as a bell into my mind and touched me so… she said that it hurts to realize that this is the last cup of Nescafe we’ll make together…

And as the day passed I thought… that it simply hurts to realize that every moment passed by me that day was unique, priceless and invaluable… even if that moment was as tiny as an unnoticed smile at the corner of my mouth…

Today was my first day at the new workplace… it was hard I must say… I felt like a stranger at the beginning of the day… and still actually…

As I’m writing this I’m sure of one thing… That I will never forget MIS… I spent there one of the best years of my life… though full of actions and pains, yet had more capacity of love, emotions, and fun…

I hope that the best is yet to come… and praying for the better… as I always do…

 

                                                            Rou…

                                                            Monday, February 26, 2007

                                                            5:10 pm

                                                            Day 1 @ Orange Business Services (a.k.a. Equant)

 

Leave a Reply

