March 1, 2007

Memories…

Posted in English, Reflections at 4:46 pm by Rou...

Yesterday I was rearranging my folders on the pc… I came across lots of stuff from college times; documents and projects concerning my studies back then… I smiled while reading many of them and thought of how naïve I was back then… but, no, I wasn’t naïve… I was more a like a dreamer…

I moved through other folders till I reached a huge one containing pictures… family ones and friends one… ones of mid year vacation trip in 3rd year in the academy to Luxor and Aswan… and others of mid year vacation trip in 4th year in the academy to Taba and Sharm el Sheikh…

Another folder containing 4th year pictures; a huge one… I laughed remembering that during the last 3 months in the last year in college I never went to the academy a day without the camera with me… as if I wanted to grab every single moment and make a memory out of it… something to remember over the years… and how true I was thinking back then I thought now as I passed through the heaped up memories…

I moved to another folder including the graduation pictures; the ones in the academy and the ones in the conference hall; the formal one… we were all so elegant and handsome in those ones with those smiley faces full of hopes and dreams… I remember I was convinced that I’ll finish my masters and PhD degrees and work in the university… dreams that changed completely afterwards…

I moved again to another folder that had the iTi pictures… a very strange year of my life… sometimes I find it hard to judge if it was a good one or a simply very bad one… it had many contradicting events in it… yet I must confess that I came across many good people there…

I moved again through the pictures of some family events and some other trips then finally reached the folder that contained an important stage of my life… those pictures taken throughout last year… with my colleagues and friends in my previous workplace…

I miss them all there… it was a year of my life and I still find it hard to cope with my new workplace… Thought I’m totally convinced that I took the right step for my career… but I miss the “Feels like Home” feeling I used to have there… the family environment thing if you can get me…  

Tears and Emotions invaded me that I left my place at the pc and moved to where the huge photo albums lie… I grabbed one after another and stayed for hours watching them and remembering every single moment each picture brings…

I was sitting on the floor surrounded by pictures from everywhere… Memories kept flowing into my mind… tears flew on my cheeks along with smiles and loud laughters while living through all these memories…

Amazingly enough, when you take a picture you stop the time… it’s a “click” and the whole world cease to exist or move a second afterwards… you smile… cry… or shout… and all this becomes a memory with a “click”… Someone told me once that the blesses of memories are unbelievable… it gets you back in time, and you remember one minute of your life, and it satisfies you for hours or even days…

Very true… isn’t it…?

Give it a try every once and a while… and… Have a blissful day…

 

Rou…

March 1, 2007

 

1 Comment »

  1. Rou... said,

    Reblogged this on Sleepless in Cairo and commented:

    I was picking a random post from my blog and this is what my luck lead me to… Perhaps it is a message… not sure…


Leave a Reply

