March 14, 2007

As Good As it Gets…

Posted in Movies Reflections at 4:41 pm by Rou...

A few days ago I watched “As good as it gets” movie on TV. I can’t really recall how many times I saw that movie, but what I can assure is the fact that every time I do, I discover something more touching in it than the previous times…

I’ve always liked how brilliant Jack Nicholson played his role… have always loved that scene in the restaurant when he messed things up with Helen Hunt and she asked him to tell her something nice to make it up with her… he told her that after a certain situation that occurred between them he started taking his medication (pills) – the one he hated and refused to take previously although his shrink said that it’d help… and when she inquired how this could be of any compliment to her… he said these brilliant words… “You make me want to be a better man…” and no reply could have ever been better than what she said… “…That’s maybe the best compliment of my life!”

This time I saw something different in the movie… something that can be summed up in one sentence that have the name of the movie in it… in a scene when he was moving out of his shrink’s office… he looked to a group of depressed psychiatric patients and said… “What if this is as good as it gets?”… And left…

I stayed for the rest of the movie recalling this sentence… I’m sure I’ve seen this scene many times before, but as if it was the first time for me to truly understand his words… to truly understand what it is all about…

Did you ever think of it this way before…?

That may be this is the best you can get out of life…

May be you did your best and this is the best you can get out of it in the time being…

May be things won’t get better than the current situation…

So, why keep blaming yourself…

Why feel frustrated and depressed about it when you know very well that you did your best…

Why keep struggling and fighting till time passes you by and you discover that you forgot to enjoy what you had…

I’m not saying we should stop believing and hoping that things might actually get better at some point in the future… I’m only talking about specific situations that you know you did your best in it…

Just accept whatever life brings you as long as you are doing what you have to do about it… Enjoy it and be grateful and happy with whatever you have now… May be it’s not what you exactly wanted it to be, but who said that life always brings you what you want…

Live your life to the utmost… and learn to enjoy it… because every moment passes you by is unique and will never come again…

 

Leave a Reply

