September 4, 2007

Yes… I’m proud to be a templar…

Posted in English, Reflections at 12:34 pm by Rou...

Don’t panic! This is not another “proud to be a templar” post…

 

Don’t worry; I wouldn’t start talking about the enormous number of events PTP conducted throughout 5 years…

 

I wouldn’t mention the spiritual Cairo walks and city tours, nor the amazing presentations, or the inspiring poetry nights…

 

I wouldn’t talk about the argumentative yet positive debates held, nor the book discussion sessions that gave many templars the opportunity to meet their favorite writers sometimes…

 

I wouldn’t even utter a word about the infinite number of emails that added tons of knowledge to the readers’ minds, or talk about how amazing other emails touched one’s heart and mind…

 

No dears, I’m not going to talk about any of these… I’m only going to talk about my side of the story…

 

No, don’t get me wrong… I’m not going to describe what PTP presents to me… because in fact, I wouldn’t be able to put this into words…

 

I can only talk about the difference that PTP made to my life… In other words… “Me… Before and After…”

 

Should I say them into points…? Ok!

 

I learned a lot of knowledge on topics that I never thought of investigating before…

 

I visited many places that I used to have a shallow look upon, through my well shut car window…

 

I became a book worm… yes I used to love reading but not to that extent…

 

I gained the courage to express my thoughts in words and share them with people I don’t know… and get feedback in return… which consequently taught me how to accept critics… and “listen” more than “talk”…

 

I have been touched and supported by people who barely knew me… and this taught me a lesson about the beautiful side of the human nature…

 

I learned to love my country in a different way, and to manage my anger from the everyday disappointments by searching for positive means to develop my community…

 

I understood the meanings of the words such as “tomorrow”, “hope”, and “dream”…

 

I’m not saying that I was a shallow person before I joined PTP… and it’s not that PTP made me see things I didn’t see… it’s just that… PTP made me see the same things I used to see but from a new perspective… a much more positive one… it provided me with the most important thing… “A hope for a better tomorrow…”

 

So, did it turn out to be another “proud to be a templar” email…?

 

Well… seems it did… and frankly speaking it’s ok with me… because I AM proud to be a templar… indeed…

 

Hope it wasn’t a long boring post…

Have a splendid day all…

 

Rou…

 

Leave a Reply

