September 19, 2007

Ramadan… I can’t feel it!

Posted in English, Reflections at 12:38 pm by Rou...

I cannot feel Ramadan this year… In fact I was talking with my intimate friend about this issue a few days ago… that sob7an Allah how our lives, our feelings, and even the way we used to enjoy things differed from last Ramadan to this one… and it’s not only about this year actually… I’ve been feeling indifferent towards it for a couple of years now…

 

Is it about the number of family gatherings and outings with friends…?

 

Well, if I would speak about myself… I would say that the family gatherings (3azayem Ramadan) are still the same numerically, and the outings of Iftars with friends are still the same or may be more than usual kaman…

 

I still go for the Qeyam prayers in some special mosque where the Quran recite takes you to another world…

 

I still go sometimes for events afterwards and so7oor later on…

 

Basically, my Ramadan day is almost the same… yet, something is missing all the way… and that something is simply the spirit…

 

Is it because I used to enjoy Ramadan with the presence of certain people who no more exist in my life…?

Or am I getting old… and failing to enjoy whatever simple things I used to enjoy…?

 

I’m not sure… However, even if the previous can explain the way I feel (or don’t feel), still, it doesn’t explain what everybody feels…?

 

What is it then…?

Is it financial issues and the continuous frustrations and depressions…?

 

I’m not sure… I mean… yea the drop in the standard of living, the crazy rise of the prices, and all the catastrophes – politically and economically – that Egypt passes through definitely affects the Egyptian citizen in every way… But, can it really get into their souls to the extent of not being able of feeling content anymore…? To the extent of not being able to enjoy something that has always been a part of the Egyptian identity…?

 

I mean… this is really scary… where are we heading to…?!

 

“Remember how Ramadan used to be…?”

Yes, I do remember…

I do remember the happiness and the excitement in the night of “ro2ya” when I used to wait – impatiently – to its start date…

I do remember elmesa7araty that I hardly ever hear any of them nowadays… I do remember the happiness of sharing and laughters in the family gatherings…

I do remember how the excitement in preparing outings with friends or dish parties Iftars in the school’s playground…

 

I do remember how it used to feel like…

And I do miss those days… when I was young, innocent, and happy…

 

 

Rou…

 

Leave a Reply

