September 26, 2007

It’s me… Don’t you remember…?

Posted in English, Reflections, Revolutionary and Politician at 4:19 pm by Rou...

Do you remember me…?

I used to resemble hope… with a promising green field and three white stars arranged together within a single crescent standing for your three religions living together in peace…

 

Don’t you remember me…?

I was always up and high… you used to attain my dignity and grace… no matter what…

I witnessed your whole history, and have been part of it…

I used to be sacred to you… you died to save me times and times before…

 

Do you remember those days when you decided to give me a different look…?

You explained that day that it fits the new phase you are heading to more…

And I didn’t complain… I never do…

 

You said that the red refers to the period before your victory… the period of struggles against the enemy to regain your freedom.

 

You affirmed that the white represents the glory and purity of your move which ended the earlier period’s flaws without bloodshed, and the advent of a new era full of hope. You even added two green stars to the white to symbolize your brotherhood with your fellow neighbor…

 

And you claimed that the black symbolizes the end of the oppression you were living in.

 

You changed me completely… Yet, I was very proud that you are putting such symbols in me… I was anticipating the bright future…

 

And even when you later on removed the two green stars… You put the eagle of your favorite leader instead… the eagle of Saladin… and that made me even prouder…

 

Don’t you remember the days of defeat… and the glorious victory that came afterwards…?

I was there… I cried with you when you were there in the sunny dessert shamefully retreating… and I was there when you moved beyond the impossible and regained your dignity… you were dying under me and I was up and high… reaching for the highest skies… telling the whole world stories about your courage, sacrifices, and bravery…

 

Can’t you understand the grace you once put on me…? How can you treat me the way you do now…? What happened to you…?

Did the lack of reality and the world of hallucinations you are living in turned you into… merely human… neither fully alive, nor dead… just breathing…

Don’t you see…?

If you can’t even remember me… how would you ever defend me…?

 

You still can’t recognize me…?

It’s me… who is always awake…

It’s me… who is always there… in the good times and the bad ones…

It’s me… who was once your way to being proud…

It’s me… who is now disgraced by you and by everyone…

 

It’s me… your Egyptian flag…

 

 

 

Rou…

26 September 2007

 

Leave a Reply

