November 5, 2007

Master of the Gate… Short Story

Posted in English, Short Story at 4:07 pm by Rou...

Though it is a very insignificant matter, yet it insisted on disturbing me every morning… Some ridiculous thoughts concerning the gatekeeper of the company I work for…

 

Am I a nervous overweening person with a darkened soul as those losers everywhere keep on saying about me…? Or is he just another disrespectful and spiteful man…?

 

It’s this grudge that such low standard people hold in minds towards higher social classes… I’m sure he can’t stand the look of my luxurious car with its murky windows and its loud horn… I bet he comes to the company every day clinging to a pipe in an overcrowded bus that blinds his eyes with its awful smoke… Or, even worse, he might be coming everyday walking the long way from where he lives, and as his sweat comes together with the dust everywhere it must turn into an unbearable malodorous… Do you think after all this he wouldn’t be feeling malice towards me…?

 

How does he feel while standing in the burning sun and seeing the drops of vapor condensed on the lower part of my car windows – resulting from the chilliness that the air conditioning system of the car provides…?

 

How does he feel when he faces my arrogant inspecting look at him each morning and sees his own poor reflection on the surface of my dark costly sunglasses…? He is trying to imitate even this… and he wears an apparently cheap sunglasses when encountering me at the company’s gate every morning… a very dark one…

 

Gosh! That silly smile again… He is trying to provoke me… and he does it intentionally…But he would never be able to achieve anything with all these trials… For, I’m simply in a very higher social standard than his…This dimmed glass windows of my precious car will always separate me from his dusty venomous environment…

 

It’s only one minute or less every morning, and as I see him slowing down in pushing the button to open up the gate, the noisy horn of my car gets louder as my anger gets higher… Ah… It’s this envy again!

 

He’s newly hired; just a week ago they say …

It’s all because of that idiot who owns the company… He thinks that by hiring such people he will be entitled Mr. Kindhearted! Complete Nonsense!

 

I can simply raise a complain and fire him immediately… But… who the hell is he to let everybody know that such an insignificant person bothers me!

 

I can’t really understand… It doesn’t need to be smart to press that silly button… we never needed a gatekeeper in the first place… I can’t find any logical reason to hire such an old man standing on the edge of demise, and holding such a spiteful soul…

 

How come he doesn’t stand to salute me when I arrive in the morning…? May be then I would open my car window and kindly get into his surroundings for a few seconds as I give him a tip … I may even smile at him then…

 

How did it cross his sick mind that by holding this place beside the gate button he would become equal to me and that such position will permit him not stand immediately at my arrival…?

 

This envy he holds inside his soul has blinded him it seems!

 

We will never be equal… He will stay in his smudged environment and I will always be behind my luxurious car with its gloomy windows…

 

***

 

A week has passed… And I can’t but keep thinking about this matter every morning… I don’t know why I’m giving it that space in my mind…? I’m not supposed to be thinking of such inferior issues that much…

 

Nevertheless, I’m quite certain that just my presence ruins the peacefulness of his life… Or else why would he be envying me that much…?

 

Does he think that this uniform he wears will provide him with the needed prestige to fill into the huge social gap between the two of us, or even balance the feeling of deficiency he feels deep inside…? Just like the little child who begs his parents to buy him a policeman uniform with a plastic pistol… to live into the illusion of having a power for a few hours…

 

Does he think that just sitting beside the gate for a few hours daily, makes him its Master…?

 

We are NOT equal… and I will no longer stay silent about it…

 

I will go early in the morning to give him a lesson he won’t forget… and open up his eyes on the reality he fails to see… that me and him… will never be equal!

 

I won’t step off my car, but would talk through a very small opening in the window… an opening that won’t exceed the space that someone like him should take off my mind…

 

Here I am approaching the gate…

 

He never looks at me… The noisy loud horn of the car is a must for him to turn his face towards me…

 

“Hey you… Gatekeeper… Come over here…”

 

I aggressively called him through a very small opening in my car window; this is all the space I can allow to communicate with such category of people…

 

He opens up the door of the small wooden kiosk he stays in, and moves towards me… leaning on a stick… and his slow movement really gets on my nerves…

 

“Yes Sir”

 

So, you know that I am the master here… Yes I am the one with the upper hand here and you are not the master of the gate…

 

I raised my voice with the arrival of the rest of the employees… “Do you know who I am, you spiteful old man…?”

 

And without leaving him a chance to reply and with a very loud voice I started degrading and humiliating him in every way with my sharp mortifying words… and the affect went far beyond my expectations with the presence of this small crowd of employees that started to gather around to understand to whom I was shouting and for what reason…

 

I kept on this for another few minutes… and it was when the old man started to weep… that somebody murmured in my ears… “Sir, he is war-wounded old man… and he is blind……………”

 

 

Rehab Ragaee

November 5, 2007

 

Leave a Reply

