November 26, 2007

Watch and Learn!

Posted in English, Reflections at 3:58 pm by Rou...

One of the interesting things about work is getting to know new people… But when I use the word “know” here, I somehow tend to mean observe people’s behaviors… I know that this might sound weird to you, but it’s actually one of the things that I do every now and then… I sometimes even sit in a café or walk in the street all alone monitoring people’s attitude and behavior… I don’t criticize… I just… watch… and learn…

 

Though it’s been only two years since I started my professional life, yet – unfortunately – I moved more than once to more than one company, and although this is not very healthy from the perspective of building a career, nonetheless I can assure you that on a personal basis it added a lot to me, specially that by default my position involves dealing with new people everyday internally within the company or externally with clients (I bet you know how harsh, stubborn, and unsatisfied most clients are usually – both internally and externally!)… And dealing with angry people usually reveals a lot about their personalities… I mean… people can fake their communication skills when they are calm and cool, but usually the real thing shows up as soon as anger find its way to them…

 

The thing is that somehow I’m starting to be convinced that any working environment is – by the end of the day – a theatre with all types of actors performing their roles. My words don’t necessarily mean that people are double faced (although many are indeed!)… It’s just that I somehow tend to see any workplace as a petite representation of life itself where you encounter almost all kinds of people…

 

At first I thought this was related to my previous work place, because our relations with each others were very tight and I had the opportunity to know many of them close enough to see things clear… I even witnessed many incidences and complicated relations that I thought it – back then – impossible to happen in one place within this limited number of people…

 

But, as I move forward in life, I realize that it wasn’t related to that place only… it’s everywhere… I met, meet, and will meet all kinds of people in any place I have worked in or will move to… Generous ones, kind ones, know-it-all ones, creative ones, hard worker ones, spiteful ones, lazy ones, stubborn ones… smiling faces, and frowning ones… supportive characters, and frustrating ones… born leaders, and followers ones… Whichever case it was, I’m somehow convinced that the “raison d’être” that drew them together is merely the fact that they happened to work at the same place in the exact period of time… Just like “Life”… The truth is that the one thing that relates all these people together is – beyond doubt – the fact that they happened to be alive at this specific period of time…

 

……… and as my colleague said his everyday phrases of complaining, I smiled remembering another colleague in another company who used to say the exact same phrase daily…

 

Didn’t I tell you… I watch… learn… smile… live… and never criticize… because who knows… may be somebody out there had encountered the copy of me somewhere before… somewhere in time…

 

Have a lovely day…

Rou…

 

Leave a Reply

