December 24, 2007

Tahaado… Ta7abbo…

Posted in English, Reflections at 3:48 pm by Rou...

Staring at the well decorated tree in the corner of the room where my office is, and as my colleagues got busy in a deep discussion regarding the gifts they’re gonna get to their friends and loved ones on Christmas day, I remembered a beautiful – and very short – Prophetic saying that encourages gifts giving as a way of getting people closer; “Tahaado, Ta7abbo”, which basically means: “Give presents to one another, and you will love one another”. I’m not quite sure why it crossed my mind at this particular moment, but maybe the reason is that it’s a time in the year where everybody in the streets is cheerful and saying “Kol sana wenta tayeb” to everybody else in this beautiful combination of Adha Eid, Christmas, New Year, Eastern Christmas, then Hijri New Year… All… in a very short period of time… At times like these giving gifts is the perfect way of saying “I care” to close ones…

 

But, the thing is that the purpose of giving gifts is far beyond the gift itself and how expensive it might be… Gifts are all about the hidden meanings they represent… it’s all about love and care… However, sometimes I get the feeling that we seem to be exchanging gifts just because we’re used to doing this and not because there’s actually “love” in doing it…

 

Think with me… How many times have you got a gift for close ones lately…? Whatever was the occasion… Birthday, Eid, Christmas or whatever…

How many of those times have you really thought of what the other side might need…? How many of those times have you put enough love and real care while spending time in thinking of what is best for him/her…?

And…How many of those times have you ended up getting anything “expensive” just to get relieved from the duty of “buying” the gift…?

We’re abusing the real meaning behind the idea of “giving gifts”… we’re turning it into a duty that we want to get rid of as soon as we can…

I don’t know… but as for myself, I would rather get flowers, a chocolate bar, or even just call that says “I care”, than getting a pretty expensive gift without feeling this kind of love and care surrounding it…

 

A gift doesn’t have to be something physical…

Have you ever thought of giving a loving smile in Eid?

Or spending the night sitting with close ones on couch watching an old movie in Christmas?

Those are gifts too…

Care is a gift…

Love is the most precious gift…

 

 

Did I make it long…?

 

Anyways, have lovely Holidays All… J

 

 

Rou… humming “Rej3et el shatweye…”

 

2 Comments »

  1. […] Eastern Christmas… I remember last year I was so fascinated with this spirit and I even wrote a post on the importance of giving gifts in such days… but with the true meaning and sense of a gift… […]

  2. […] Note: I wrote something regarding putting enough love into gifts back on the Christmas Eve of 2007… I thought of sharing it with you again here in this context… https://sleeplessrou.wordpress.com/2007/12/24/tahaado-ta7abbo/ […]


Leave a Reply

