January 23, 2008

This winter… Life is happening…

Posted in English, Reflections at 3:43 pm by Rou...

The weather this winter is pretty unusual; a new kind of cold that makes you shivers from the inside and go together with this gorgeous foggy sky to give a new taste to the beautiful portrayal of a perfect winter…

 

This week, it rained several times, washing away what remnants of dust off the trees, the streets, and the sidewalks… But, more importantly it seems to be washing away the dust off my soul too… leaving me with cheerful thoughts of love and hope… and this uplifting feeling of the will to dance anywhere and everywhere in the rain…

 

I am usually in my best moods in winter time… Yet, this year in particular my wintry atmosphere is taking me to new areas… The last two days of cloudy weather have made me rather thoughtful and introspective… more or less about all the happy ways that a million things happening at once can make you feel…

 

I bet you are thinking of how crazy I am now… I mean, a few days ago I was scratching down my helpless thoughts of how a blue type of person I am turning to be, and now I am talking about happiness and self satisfaction… Well… I wouldn’t blame you if you think I am… sometimes I feel the same about myself too… but, just give me the chance to explain… and don’t rush in judging my state of mind… 🙂

 

One of the things that caused me continuous worry lately is the being busy status I have been living in for quite some time now…

I always felt like “How am I going to get everything done?” and “Would I lose myself along the way or what?” to the end of these meaningless negative questions… And when I look at the clock every night, I panic while watching the arrows of the clock crossing midnight knowing that half of the things listed on my to-do list that should have been done 2 weeks ago were still there… and face another fact that I have to wake up at 7:00 am the next day for work… then start thinking about the flu that seems to be staying with me till the end of this winter… and… and… and…

You get what I’m trying to say here, right?

 

Have anything changed at all…?

Bluntly, not much!

I’m still rarely asleep before midnight (This is in case I truly “slept”, I assume you already know what a sleepless person I am)…

I’m still usually up at 7 am…

My to-do list is never finished…

And… I’m still, endlessly, suffering from flu…

I’ve also put on hold my quitting coffee attempts, because I truly can’t imagine getting through the day without it right now… Though am trying to convince myself that this is a temporarily decision, yet, frankly speaking, I don’t even think about when I’m going to make my next attempt… 🙂

 

What is it then…?

Well… I just reached a conscious decision to enjoy my life… I mean… I realized that, yes, my life is busy… but this is lovely… realizing this itself was a decision… I am simply choosing to enjoy my life… just the way it is…

 

Are you wondering how lovely can I see it…?

 

Well…

 

It is lovely to stay busy at work and get stuck in meetings every few hours; I must confess that it adds a lot to me dealing with different types of people all the time…

 

It is lovely to get involved into dozens of social activities, get to know new people, visit new places, experience new type of knowledge, and learn more about my capabilities and aptitude…

 

It is lovely to survive the mess my nephew turn our home on Fridays, and stay all day reading him stories and throwing each other with pillows (warning, I am “kidder” than any kid when playing with kids – kidder here bema3na “a3yal”: P), get angry of him sometimes, knowing that eventually I will get the most tender hug I can ever dream of…

 

It is lovely that when I get to go out for a walk in the rain (like I did yesterday after Egypt’s match), I truly taste it because I figure out it might not happen again for quite some time…

 

It is even lovely having my everlasting flu, because every time I do, my sweet mother brings me honey and chicken soup, tell me to take care of myself, and simply have me stay at home enjoying these splendid conversations between us to catch up with all the happenings I have missed during my other busy days, while sitting on the cozy couch in the living room…

 

It is lovely… don’t you think…?

 

“Life is what happens to you when you’re busy making other plans…”

Do you know this quote…? Well… I just feel it these days… I got busy in all the busyness I had in my life… and did not enjoy the happenings within…

 

Life is happening to me this winter, I will enjoy it while I am living it, and when I come out on the other side, I’ll have my memories and lots of pictures to remind me of how fun it was, despite the insanity… sometimes…

 

Besides, I know that when things get bad all I need to do is grab a cup of coffee and stay awake to enjoy it, right?

 

Yalla, Stay alive, and… shaga3o Masr bedameeer J

Rou…

 

Leave a Reply

