January 31, 2008

A day without the Internet…

Posted in English, Reflections at 3:42 pm by Rou...

Yesterday, a major Internet crisis occurred in Egypt resulting from a breakdown in an international undersea cable network. The communications cable in the Mediterranean was badly cut, disrupting 70% of the country’s Internet network.

 

As you would expect, the remaining 30% could not cover the whole country which caused most of the people to live a day without the Internet.

 

Luckily, I had yesterday off, so I didn’t actually know about this except when I started receiving calls from some friends who were wondering why the internet was down. Being an ex-employee in one of the leading Internet Service Providers in Egypt made them assume I would have an answer. I didn’t have an immediate answer though, but after calling an ex-colleague I came to the fact of what actually happened.

 

Well, none of this is important actually; I’m not writing this to say that I was able to know this info. It’s just that… I was thinking of how it feels to stay for a whole day without the Internet… I have tried doing it about a month ago, and I actually succeeded in doing it… but I was doing in intentionally for some reasons I had in mind. But, to stay for the whole day at work for instance without any access to the internet is really hard… it makes you feel like you are being locked up in a room… and isolated from the outside world…

 

I was busy in my thoughts, when another thought crossed my mind; shaking me…  

10 years ago, few people in Egypt knew what the internet is all about… and fewer people had satellite television access… and even fewer people had mobile phones…

10 years ago… life was much simpler… and people used to LIVE… with much more means of living than staring all day long into a screen!

 

I noticed then that I’m uttering the word “10 years” so easily as if they are “10 days”… I am almost 26 years old… I don’t have much “10 years” to mention that easily I thought… and as this thought triggered into my mind I remembered my late grandma who used to tell me “زمان كانت الأيام فيها بركة” … and I thought of how true was her words…

 

As I am writing this now, I am thinking of trying something… to forsake the usage of internet during the weekend… let’s say… during Friday… I can start with a day without the Internet… weekly… though am not sure I will actually be able to do it… but, who knows, may be I will be addaha! Ama neshoof! J

 

Have a lovely day all,

 

Rou…

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. […] feeling like I am being isolated from the world, although I wasn’t… and that day because the thoughts kept invading me on how much I have become accustomed to the internet usage in my life, I made a […]

  2. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d
    definitely appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

