February 7, 2008

Major Car Accident… in Egypt!

Posted in English, Reflections at 8:40 am by Rou...

My brother works in Alkorayemat… He goes the whole way daily, and since his working hours starts at 8 am in the morning, so he leaves home a few minutes after 6am so that by the time he reach there it is almost 8… you can imagine at this time of the day how the whether is like and how the fog is like specially on a highway…

 

He called me a while ago… I thought it is a normal birthday call, since he didn’t see me before he leaves in the morning… His voice panicked me… and the shock came afterwards with his words…

 

A major accident occurred just a few inches infront of him… 8 “trillat” + 2 microbuses crashed altogether and more than 30 are dead… “أشلاء” he said… I am standing between blood and human parts everywhere… it’s a bloodbath… and no sign of police or ambulance…

 

I notified the television section here at work (I work at Reuters; the news agency), then called him again after 10 minutes to check how it is going… he said… I can’t believe it… there are 4 more accidents so far… one on the other side, a microbus who saw the accident on our side and after a few meters he crashed and 11 are dead… and another 2 accidents occurred at the back between cars who didn’t see that the cars have stopped and crashed and 4 are dead… they didn’t even close the highway and cars are still flowing…

 

I asked about police and ambulance… he said 2 police officers arrived… “زي إللتهم” he said… they just walked between the dead corps and did nothing… 2 ambulance cars arrived… “مش قادرين يلاحقوا”… they took a few injured and left… and no traces of any more cars… before I ended the call he said “أهو الجيش وصل أهو”…

 

“This is probably the largest accident that ever happened in Egypt…” that was his words before we hanged off the phone…

 

I will call him again after a while to see what is going on… for the time being… I really don’t know what to say… I feel sick in my stomach… am really sorry for the very sad email… bass I had to share this with you…

 

 

Rehab… (In a state of SHOCK!)

 

Leave a Reply

