March 6, 2008

Random facts about me…

Posted in English, Reflections at 3:18 pm by Rou...

Random facts about me…

 

    First impressions on me incredibly vary; some get the feeling that I am a very calm and serene young lady, others literally say that I am very arrogant; “tenka” is the word used in their description (whatever this word would mean)… But, the fact is that I’m neither this nor that; my inside volcanoes and earthquakes don’t really match my outside appearance at all if I may say; not even from a professional point of view. See, I am an IT person by profession, but an all-cultural-themes person at heart, and the truth is, I would gladly give up my IT career for good if someone would agree to pay me for reading, writing, and attending all kinds of cultural activities all day long…

 

    I hate computers though they are the core of my career. However, the fact remains that I cannot really survive a day without one… But you can say I hate the kind of persons computers turned us to be; practical creatures without a life keda… I hate chatting in particular; hate this silly feeling of smiling to a screen! I also hate the computer-resulted abbreviations that we use all day long and find it really silly and make the words lose its meanings keda… I tried doing something a few days ago which is to get an abbreviation such as “LOL” which is equal to “Laugh Out Loudly” and get its relevant Arabic meaning, and the result was REALLY funny… I ended up having an abbreviation of “ضبع” which is equal to “ضحك بصوت عالى”! Isn’t it silly… don’t you think…? My cousin told me once that because she is used to using such abbreviations all the time, she sometimes feels like using it in normal face-to-face conversations… her words really provoked me… and I thought… “Mesh fahma! Ya3ny when I feel like laughing my heart out, I should feel like saying ‘LOL’ instead!”… Ah… This sucks!

 

    I ADORE writing! It’s releasing and expressive; it’s intense and relaxing at the same time. I started noticing how much I love writing when I was in primary and preparatory stages in school through the “composition” pieces during Arabic and English classes. After I was done with school I started writing a couple of things keda but not on a frequent basis at all… until I joined PTP, and I started then to really concentrate on developing my writing skills… I mostly write short stories, personal reflections, and articles… tried a couple of times to write character profiles and plot lines in order to eventually come up with a novel, but did not actually complete any of the trials… am not into poetry writing (though I have some moods of poetry reading) probably because am not a big fan of using rhymes in writing… This instilled sense of achieving something that invades me the minute I am done with sketching down my “writing” sometimes makes me think of myself as a writer, despite the fact that I’ve never formally published anything outside school paper, my blog, and PTP. I even carry around a notebook in which I could scrawl anything any time I get an idea or see or hear a great line that might later inspire me (Goes without saying tab3an that this paper notebook sits aside to a book to read!)

 

    I love using three dots “…” at the end of phrases in my writings… Like the previous sentence keda… I am not sure if this is considered punctuation or not, but either ways, I know that I remarkably misuse this great language gift called “punctuation”… I love to write some words with capital letters to highlight the fact that I REALLY feel something for instance… or constantly use hyphens and bury parentheses-within-parentheses to explain several meanings within each other… I also love to use “quotations” when using a sarcastic expression to illustrate something… in addition to the italic font to give the feeling that the word written is not meant to be it literally… This way of writing probably results from the fact that I write in the same way I talk… Being this kind of persons who is hardly speechless, I know I have – you know – “tones” keda while talking… Anyways!

 

    I truly can’t live without books (Note here that I am using the word “book” not only “reading”)… I love the smell of books and the intimate feeling they give, rather than sitting in front of a dull computer screen reading from soft copies… There was that very expressive and true saying that I read somewhere once that said “Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed on and digested.”… Same goes with music… Music actually speaks with the words you fail to utter… if feelings could talk then I believe it would sound like music…

 

    I LOVE watching sports in general; football (soccer) and tennis in particular, to the extent of getting my nerves high and my blood pressure rises with every minute passing, and I eventually reach this stage of… “Comm’on I need this match to end now with whatever result before I die over here suffering from high blood pressure!” Does this sound… a bit non-feminine to some…? Well, I’m not sure, but may be this resulted from the fact that I am the only-younger-sister to two-elder brothers… fa I’m kinda not ba2a a “hysterical movies crier”, and I don’t rush after makeup and stare into “Star Academy” all day long… I know very well that no matter how “fashionable” I try to become, my comfort-jeans freakiness eventually wins out…

 

    I can be incredibly silly with kids. If you’re leaving kids with me, be prepared for the fact that I will talk to them using made-up words, silly animal sounds, and swing them round and round until we’re both exhausted (usually starting with me)… Don’t worry though, I will respect your wishes not to feed them chocolate or sugar…

 

What else…? I don’t know… that’s all for now I guess…

 

 

Leave a Reply

