December 11, 2008

Of an Old Dream: Not just Roses and Champagnes!

Posted in English, Fav. Lyrics, Reflections at 3:27 am by Rou...

A while ago, I was listening to John Lennon’s song “Imagine”, and a particular part of it kept popping into my mind ever since; “Imagine all the people sharing all the world… You may say that I’m a dreamer, But I’m not the only one… I hope someday you’ll join us and the world will live as one… ”…  May be the reason I so much related to tat part of the song is the fact that I used to have this dream of one world, one love… and I confess that in my early teenage years, I naively thought it is possible to achieve… that dream of changing the world starting with yourself… remember it? Yes! I used to be one of those dreamers… and I was never ashamed to say it…

 

Yesterday I was having a long talk with a dear friend of mine… about life happenings and the way it affects one’s character throughout the years… and suddenly out of nowhere I came to the fact that along the road of my life, I gave up some dreams, one of which was that particular dream… I guess I kinda lost it somewhere in-between my disappointments & frustrations, and my struggles to find the real me… Realizing this, I felt really ashamed of myself… See, even though I kept my belief that I can change myself to be a better person, but it was my belief of changing anything or anyone around me that faded away…

 

Anyways… Those of you who happened to know me, know that I am usually in my best moods in winter times… sa7ee7 winter haven’t really started awy yet, but the autumn weather of the past couple of days along with the lovely Eid spirit made me kinda reconsider some of my life happenings… and what made such consideration have a greater effect is the fact that I truly love this holidays’ spirit that seems to surround us lately during December and January… I just LOVE these couple of years with all these happy holidays following each other; Eid Adha, Christmas, Hijri New Year, New Year, Eastern Christmas… I remember last year I was so fascinated with this spirit and I even wrote a post on the importance of giving gifts in such days… but with the true meaning and sense of a gift… something given with love, care, and passion… not just… ta2deyet wageb… So, if you can get how such happy days make me feel, how high my spirit is with the cold breeze, the nostalgic feeling that John Lennon’s song put me in, along with my usual stand with myself at the end of each passing year… you’ll probably understand how much I feel am yearning to get back to that old dream now… and how much I am trying to re-live it, and work for making it come true…

 

I know what you’re thinking of… “Life is not about roses and champagnes… face your reality and dream of things that can be achieved… Dreaming of something differs from making it happen!” … I do agree walahy… and I promise you am not naively thinking of it this time… I know very well that lots was lost throughout the years, it’s just that I am standing for the hope that remains…

 

I mean… Why do we always tend to think that great events demand great causes, while the truth is they don’t!

They often require just one voice – good or bad… That, as much as their genius, is the legacy of, you name any… Gandhi, Martin Luther King, and many others…   

 

My point is that we should all try to be that “one voice” … for good.  We may think it will not matter.  But the thing is we can’t see ourselves through the long lens of history… Your “one voice” might actually be the difference!

 

Martin Luther King once said: “Hatred paralyzes life; love releases it. Hatred confuses life; love harmonizes it. Hatred darkens life; love illuminates it.

 

Happy Days,

 

Love,

Rou…

 

 

I’ll leave you with John Lennon’s song lyrics.

 

 

Imagine there’s no Heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world

You may say that I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

4 Comments »

  1. teared apart said,

    Well said ya Rou, amazing thoughts and dream we all had before to make a change,you not a dreamer and neither John lennon were…Keep the faith and hope for tomorrow…..

    Just give yourself another day,
    Brushing aside what your thoughts may say.
    This is your life and you can make a new start,
    By ignoring the brain – just follow the heart.
    Taking baby steps in order to cope,
    And minute by minute you’ll build on your hope.

    Build on your hope,. one day at a time,
    Though the road be steep and hard to climb.
    The hurts of the past – they should be dead.
    The fears of the future are all in your head.
    Just live in the present and refuse to mope
    Your life will sparkle for you’re living in hope

  2. Rou... said,

    Thanks!

    Nice words…

  3. Mohannad Faried said,

    you are Definitely a dreamer Rou, and so is a lot of people out there, who are dreamers too, and a lot who aren’t, who are more interested in the nuts and bolts of making things happen, and maintaining the norm, wich at one day was probably just another dream of some person we forgot about in our day to day lives …
    this world would be hell if the dreamers were forced to actually make their dreams come true 🙂 they would have no time to dream new things up, and it wouldn’t work if the normals had to dream either, …
    apples and oranges Rou,
    can’t have a proper fruit salad without them both.
    ps. J.L. once said a nice quote i like very much and find my self repeating it a lot now, “life happens while we talk about it”

  4. Rou... said,

    There;s this very interesting quote that I read once that said…
    “Never underestimate the power of a small group of committed people to change the world. In fact, it is the only thing that ever has!”

    Guilty as charged ya Nad… I will not stop being a dreamer! 🙂


Leave a Reply

