February 26, 2009

On Benjamin’s splendid and curious case…

Posted in English, Fav. Movie Quotes, Movies Reflections at 12:24 am by Rou...

Daisy: Would you still love me if I were old and saggy?
Benjamin Button: Would you still love ME if I were young and had acne? When I’m afraid of what’s under the bed? Or if I end up wetting the bed?

 

 

Ever wondered how would it feel like to age backwards? Ever imagined if you can fall in love with someone knowing that someday you’d appear young enough to be his child?

 

Before I start talking about this brilliant movie, I must say that am not very sentimental when it comes to movies with romantic epic in general, I do not sigh easily or cry easily, or say that a movie is heartfelt easily… I may be touched by certain scenes, certain words… but to say that a whole movie was amazing, this is something that rarely happens to me…

 

The thing is that, I don’t think I ever cried my heart out the way I did after watching “The curious case of Benjamin Button” movie… An incredibly heartfelt movie about moments in life when you feel joy and ecstasy, sorrow and pain all together through a story that carries so many twists and heart aching scenes, leaving the audience completely engrossed into the movie…

 

It’s absolutely mistaken to think that the movie is about aging, death… or even love… The movie is rather about LIFE… about everything this word might mean…  Life as a whole… Every little detail, every experience we have, our relationships with people around us who affect our lives in some way or another, every fine moment of one’s life, and every loss along the way…

 

“The curious case of Benjamin Button” is a movie that understands the human mind and digs deeply into it, resembling moments of love, happiness, depression, and confusion that life provides us, through a sincere and genuine story that leaves you utterly speechless while thinking of one important fact that we seem to forget through the hectic life we live… that age is only a number, and that we can choose what we do with our lives, no matter what our age was… that it’s never too late to do what you wanna do… or be what you wanna be… and that no matter how short the happy moments are going to be, we should enjoy them to the utmost, because it is through living them in that sense that such moments will live forever…

 

I highly recommend it to all…

 

The movie is full of touching quotes, my favorite of them was:

 

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”

 

 

All the best,

Rou…

6 Comments »

  1. Mira said,

    Hey Rou
    well i do agree with you that the movie have a great idea on how life would be and about human feelings…but when i watch it yesterday … i didnt really feel sentiment or start to cry ..it just urged me to think about life, relations and human beings

    btw i loved the same quotes you had from the Movie

  2. Rou... said,

    Mira 🙂
    Firstly, thanks for passing by and for leaving your comment over here 🙂

    Secondly, while the movie might hardly bring any tears to many (such as your case), it surprisingly brought me into continious crying starting its second half… May be the reason was that I desperately needed anything to touch my heart lately, or may be becasue it made me reconsider and rethink of many aspects of my life… or may be because it simply touched a part inside of me that I thought was dead… I really dont know… All is what am sure of is that this movie is amazingly heartfelt! 🙂

  3. Mira said,

    I think i understand what you mean …yeah sometimes we look for something as a reason to express our feelings and what we have been hiding inside of our hearts … sometimes i used to start crying for seeing a small cat in the street ..which doesnt make any sense ..since in my country Cats are everywhere in the streets..but well i needed a reason to reveal what i have deep inside

    the movie touched me deep inside as well… it made me think more about my life and my decisions … i wished i am able to change some things and i felt like missing people they were once in my life 🙂

  4. Rou... said,

    I heard that “Slumdog Millionaire” is a very good movie as well… but I haven’t seen it yet… probably will watch it soon…

    Where are you from?

  5. Mira said,

    This is funny ..i am planning to watch it tonight, if i had strength after finishing work

    Palestine

  6. Rou... said,

    I would love to hear your opinion about it then, you’ll probably watch it before I do…

    Ya Ahlan! 🙂


Leave a Reply

