May 27, 2009

Of Revenge and Forgiveness…

Posted in English, Reflections at 4:13 pm by Rou...

 “An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.”
~ Mahatma Gandhi (1869 – 1948) 
 

 

Throughout the course of my life, I have learned that forgiveness helps one be a better person, forgiving others for what they did to you, or did not do to you, and forgiving your own self, for what you did, or did not do, for actions you have taken, or reactions you did not, for people you lost, gained, or let go of… 

 
Before you jump into conclusions, am not promoting weakness or submission here… Because the weak does not forgive… only the strong does…
 
If someone caused you harm, the easiest thing you can think of is hurting them back… Taking revenge is always the easy way out; it gives you an excuse to do anything you want and to not accept responsibility… that’s why I said that only the strong can stop this trail of blindness that retribution pulls one in…
 
Vengeance is not enlightening, but rather acts like a dynamite… it does not solve anything, but rather do damage to all… and if our hearts are full of hatred, we can never see the shining truth that set us free from the evil oppression of revenge on our hearts and minds…
 
They say that those who fight fire with fire end up with ashes… to a great extent this makes sense to me… See, evil only begets evil… and hurting people (back) will only cause you more hurt…
 
All the best,
Rou…
4 Comments »

  1. Zandzz said,

    Well Rou I agree on every word you wrote and that’s what I’ve always believed in. Hatred only brings hatred and like you said in your quote said hate and fire will only bring about ashes. But recently it’s my second time that I feel that all these concepts should be changed. Simply ppl don’t value forgiveness anymore. Ppl want you to fight them so that they would keep to their limits. I keep telling myself that I shouldn’t be mean just because ppl are being mean, but I found myself the only one losing here. I still believe in what you said and believe that vengeance is nothing but damage to everyone but maybe we can keep it’s use to a minimum just for our protection. It’s all about balance after all.

  2. Abdelrahman said,

    Wow. So beautifully true ya Rou 🙂

  3. Rou... said,

    ya Randa…
    I sometimes find it hard to maintain this forgiveness bardo, mostly because it is really hard to do, and partially because ppl do not apperciate it… but the thing is eno… I do not give a damn about ppl… ppl will probably never value what you do… and never understand it… ppl like to judge each other… put assumptions and act upon them…
    on the other hand, I so much believe that it’s all about balance… I didnt say eno elwa7ed yeb2a 3abeeet… they say eno forgiveness is not complete without forgetting too… but personally speaking I forgive but I dont forget (neither the bad things nor the good ones by the way)… it stays in the background of my mind keda… as a reminder or an alert if something similar was going to happen…

    ma 3aleina… ana raghaya awy 🙂 thanks for passing by sweets!

  4. Rou... said,

    Abd el Rahman… Thanks yafandem! 🙂


Leave a Reply

