October 22, 2009

Parisian Reflections II

Posted in English, Places, Reflections at 2:51 pm by Rou...

I am simply overwhelmed with the amount of beauty I have seen in 3 days… Too much charm for my poor soul to take… my unfortunate soul that is accustomed to smoky sad Cairo…
 
I have heard a lot about Paris before I go, and I must confess that I wasn’t much impressed during my first day, mostly because of the airport experience and having almost half a day lost because of this…
 
But, let me tell you that a stroll on the calm flowing “River Seine”, a look at the breathtaking “Notre Dame de Paris”, a walk in the “Place de l’Étoile” reaching “L’Arc de Triomphe” then the “Avenue des Champs-Élysées”, a glimpse at the “Louvre” infinite amazing rooms, a walk through its amazing surroundings till the famous “Concorde”, a hike up to the charming “Basilique du Sacré-Coeur” and viewing the good old city from above, or down to the nightlife of “Pigalle” and the “Moulin Rouge” scene, a slow walk in the magical old streets of “Montmartre” with the talented French painters all around you, a view of the “Sainte-Chapelle” or the outstanding “Hôtel de Ville”, a glimpse at “Eiffel Tower” and the bridges across the Seine at night, a coffee break at a French café in an anonymous Parisian street, or a glimpse at the peaceful doves moving around you everywhere… can take your breath away in a second, in every way this word might mean…
 
There’s nothing like walking around aimlessly in the streets of Paris… Nothing like its cold breeze hitting your face, while listening to the famous sound of accordion coming from everywhere around you…
 
Even for fun… I mean… I can’t really remember when was the last time I felt I am happily enjoying being a kid as I did the moment I entered Paris Disneyland Resort… I felt I am a part of a magical world beyond the real one we live in… where everything is pinky and musical… where you can easily feel you’re Jasmine waiting for Aladdin’s magical carpet ride…
 
It’s as if Paris gives you the ability to keep your smile all the time… Puts you in an excessive happiness state of mind if I may call it so… 🙂
 
However, Paris’ amusing charisma was not only in its monuments and architecture… the charm of Paris is about the whole life style… its simple beauty… It’s as if you leave a part of you in Paris when you leave it… may be with a promise to return back someday…
 
Leaving it, the only thoughts on my mind were how much of charm it left me in…

I deserve to see beauty instead of ugliness…
I deserve to breathe fresh air instead of smoke…
I deserve to look around and see spaces, not necessarily greenery, but spaces instead of ugly buildings everywhere…
 
I deserve to live in Paris…
 
Rou…
2 Comments »

  1. Yes, Paris gives back to its visitors something which is both comforting and yet deeply exciting. Paris makes the stranger in us feel at home.
    Living in Paris is living fully and completely.
    Nice read, good blog!
    Taline Voskeritchian

  2. Rou... said,

    I couldnt agree more… Living in Paris is living fully and completely! This says it all!

    Thank you for passing by! 🙂


Leave a Reply

