November 18, 2009

وأكرهها وألعن أبوها بعشق زي الداء

Posted in Arabic, English, Poetry Selections, Reflections, Revolutionary and Politician at 11:47 pm by Rou...

So, I think it’s about time to talk…
 
I am so disappointed… not only for the fact that we did not make it to the World Cup Finals… and not only because of all this “mahzala”, if I may call it so, that surrounded the previous 2 matches, be it from Egyptians who kept saying nothing but BS regarding Algeria, or be it the strange attitude of Algerians towards Egyptians living in their country and the unbelievable lies and lack of ethics in their press and media…
 
But what disappointed me today more was what I heard from several Egyptians about our football team after the match ended… all at once people started putting all their anger and frustrations on the team, calling them names, and calling Egypt names at times…
 
Well… I must say that I cannot tolerate this in Egyptians… the rule of “3ash el malek… mat el malek” is awful begad… this team has brought the only happiness we ever had throughout the past 4 years… and we cannot just call them names just because they did not make it to the world cup finals… look back and remember the happiness you felt in the 2006 and 2008 African victories… look back and remember how you felt losing at the last second from Brazil 4-3 and winning over Italy the world’s champion 1-0… success cannot go forever… the slope must go down so as to go up again… yes I am extremely disappointed, and my blood pressure is 160… but this is life… and this is what sports is about… and I will not hate my country and go calling it names just because the national team did not make it to the world cup finals… Masr akbar men keda…
 
And now that it’s all over… I only pray that we can unite in the same way that happened during the last few weeks… but may be for something more real, more useful and beneficial to Masr… and as a dear friend told me today… “I wonder about the rate by which the FB users will remove the Flag of Egypt from their profile…”… to these I say… it’s never about the national team… it’s about Masr, your country…
 
We bardo Masr om el Donya!
 
Rehab!
 
على اسم مصر التاريخ يقدر يقول ما شاء
أنا مصر عندي أحب وأجمل الأشياء
باحبها وهيّ مالكه الأرض شرق وغرب
وباحبها وهيّ مرمية جريحة حرب
باحبها بعنف وبرقة وعلى استحياء
وأكرهها وألعن أبوها بعشق زي الداء
وأسيبها وأطفش في درب وتبقى هيّ ف درب
وتلتفت تلاقيني جنبها في الكرب
والنبض ينفض عروقي بألف نغمة وضرب
على اسم مصر
2 Comments »

  1. marooned84 said,

    When a whole nation’s only “hope” is tied to the shoes of some players kicking a ball, what do you expect but curses if they didn’t win? What a country are we becoming? Or should I say what a country we’ve become? almost everybody curses this country each and every day for many reasons, so you might say today was a chance to say it out loud, that’s all.

  2. Rou... said,

    I hate to think of it this way… it’s not about the “only hope” concept… but you can say that they simply gave us a reason to be happy for… and i have to say, that as much as I was disappointed from those I heard cursing the country after the match, I heard many saying similar words to mine afterwards…

    I think, after all, it’s hard to let go of our love to Masr…


Leave a Reply

