October 15, 2010

Of Marriage and Building Families…

Posted in English, Reflections at 4:06 pm by Rou...

I had quite an interesting conversation with a dear friend, that even though not a “close” one with the classic meaning of closeness, but someone that I so much enjoy talking with… it’s been like 2 years since we last talked, which is quite normal in our relation by the way… we do not talk or meet much, but whenever we do, things flow easily as if we were together yesterday…

Anyways… like I said, he had disappeared for quite a long time then came back to me a few days ago telling me that he got married and that last week was his first anniversary with his wife… and he wanted to simply share with me his view about marriage and family after one year (which is as far as I’ve always heard, is the toughest year in any marriage), since we used to discuss this a lot before…


And so it was, a long talk about the pros and cons of marriage from his point of view after his new experience, that ended to my own surprise, knowing how he used to think of it, with the below conclusion…


“Marriage is the reason why not everyone runs in another direction when seeing another guy or girl that he likes, marriage is about making a family, and families are the only people that you can’t cut off and just go… Families are the only ones who will always accept you just the way you are…


With family you have no choices, you are stuck there and you adore this fact, it isn’t a prison nor is it a heaven… But rather something in between; a kind of foundation where everyone contributes through years and years of hard work with zillions of happy and sad moments…


When you say “I do”, you know for sure that these two simple words will change your life forever, you aren’t so sure if you will be thankful or regretful for saying them, but the moment you do, you realize that your fear of commitment doesn’t fear you as you think it will… But you have to always remember why you proposed on one knee for this moment to come true, because only then that you will be able to pass the hard times and your heart will slow down a little bit in anger times, and your senses will come back to you…”


There’s nothing I can add over here, I just wanted to share this with you…


My friend, I’m glad you found the peace of heart you were searching for…


Rou…

4 Comments »

  1. Samia said,

    “But you have to always remember why you proposed on one knee for this moment to come true, because only then that you will be able to pass the hard times and your heart will slow down a little bit in anger times, and your senses will come back to you…”
    I am reading this just before 10 days of my wedding …
    Thanks ya Roe for sharing this with us ..it was indeed helpful and good advice ……

  2. Rou... said,

    Samia… I am just glad you find this helpful…
    May you find happiness and satisfaction in your coming life…

    Remember:

    Love is patient, Love is kind,
    It does not envy, it does not boast,
    It is not proud, it is not rude,
    It is not self-seeking,
    It is not easily angered,
    It keeps no record of wrongs.

    Love does not delight in evil,
    but rejoices with the truth.

    Love always protects, always trusts,
    always hopes, always perseveres.

    Love bears all things, believes all things,
    hopes all things, endures all things.

    🙂 God Bless!

  3. Emad said,

    Rou …. ezayek
    I am recently married too .. but only for 4 months .
    it’s absolutely true…”With family you have no choices, you are stuck there and you adore this fact, it isn’t a prison nor is it a heaven” this exactly what I feel ..
    after marriage you always hear the silly questions “how is marriage ?” and I always says “it’s much more complicated .. I can’t just say good or bad”
    but the solid fact inside me that there is no choices always there …in the good and bad times …. for me I think it something beyond love ..cause love as a human attitude are waving … may be a gift from god …

    Emad

  4. Rou... said,

    ya Omda…
    Awalan Alf Mabrook, I didn’t know that! 🙂
    Thaneyan, long time no see… I miss you my friend! 🙂

    Thalethan, I do love your reply… Even though I’ve never been married (and I doubt I will, ana et3a2adt! :D)… but I do believe in this exact sentence that you said… it’s something beyond love, but love is what makes you endure the hard times… may be it’s a gift as you call it… I don’t know… but all what I’m sure of is that you’re blessed…

    Blessed because you knew what you wanted, and you got it… you didn’t blindly go for marriage without knowing what you want from this relation or what to expect…

    At least this is how I see it…

    Mabrooook ya Emad begad tany… Rabena yebareklak 🙂


Leave a Reply

