November 17, 2010

My UK Trip: On Ice-creams, Fireworks, and my Karma!

Posted in English, Places, Reflections at 11:21 pm by Rou...

It’s funny and awkward how one can easily feel home in a strange place, and feel like an alien and a stranger in his own homeland… Alienation, estrangement and un-belonging are three words that can easily describe how I feel on a daily basis in Cairo, while their opposite can simply describe how pleasant and cozy it feels over there…

Over and over again I came across people who are extremely friendly and incidents that make me wonder for how long I will keep resisting the need of leaving Egypt for good…


Anyways, as always, in the coming series of emails, I promise to share with you my experience in my third visit to a European country… So, after last year’s encounters with France and Italy, this year comes England…


Opposing to last year’s CDG airport incident, this year’s flight was more than perfect… I was taking the bmi airlines not Egypt Air’s which makes a hell of a difference regarding the cabin crew… but it wasn’t only about this… for there were two other incidents that made things even better…


I happened to have been seated with my friend in the rear of the plane; the very last seats… When we reached our seats, there were two ladies one sitting and the other standing beside the seat waiting for the one who should be sitting beside her friend to ask about the possibility of exchanging places so as to sit beside her friend… we were perfectly fine with this… Towards the end of the trip, we found the steward bringing us 2 cups of ice-cream and the two ladies waving to us with a toast… it was their way of expressing their gratitude…


But, again, not only this made my first night in England a very special one… to make my flight a unique one, the most amazing thing happened while we were landing; just below us everywhere across London were fireworks… a scene that I don’t think I will ever forget… it was as if England was welcoming me with fireworks to celebrate my arrival… 🙂


Why was that? Well… Remember; remember the 5th of November…? 🙂
Yes, I arrived at London on the night of the 5th of November, and in England, the 5th of November is still commemorated each year with fireworks and bonfires culminating with the burning of effigies of Guy Fawkes (the guy)…


And so, I left Heathrow airport with a huge smile on my face, a smile that did not forsake my lips till the moment (quoting my friend) I saw Egypt Air staff on our trip back to Egypt, wondering what’s wrong with Egyptians…


The days after kept proving to me that what happened last year with meeting helpful and friendly people wasn’t a coincidence… I kept running into people who were helpful, cheerful, and welcoming… And as if history was repeating itself for me, in the beautiful and quite countryside village of Stratford-upon-Avon which is famous of Shakespeare’s birthplace, a man came out of nowhere, stood with us at the bus station, and started a very long talk that ended with him giving us his name, address, email, and phone number, asking us to stay in touch, and requesting a postcard from Egypt, just like the good old man who walked us to the Louvre last year did…


I still insist that meeting such beautiful people gives an amazing taste to the places I visit, and makes me fall in love with the place even more… and for some reason; this feeling leaves me with the impression that the place loves me back, and is genuinely welcoming me…


Perhaps this is my “Karma”, as my friend called it that day… I don’t know… but all I know is that I am thankful and grateful…


That’s all for now…


Rou…
2 Comments »

  1. Mermaid said,

    Very true about Egypt Air cabin crew! Ya benty da once one of the hostesses was actually shouting!!!! Bass it is not Egypt Air, I had the same problem with Saudi Airlines, remember that post “Fry with Saudi Airlines”? 🙂 But anyways, your post will make me ask Egypt Air crew to smile whenever I see them frowning 🙂 Most probably, I’ll be thrown out of the plane 😀

    Bass eda…. this is sooo sweet of the ladies who sent you ice-creams 😀 And I am sure the fireworks were … mmm… fascinating (fluttering eyelashes!) :))

    Am happy you enjoyed the cold country 🙂 It IS beautiful 🙂

  2. Rou... said,

    yea I agree, Saudi airlines sucks as well!
    Hehe, love the idea of telling them.. please do (without being thrown!) 🙂


Leave a Reply

