November 18, 2010

To leave or not to leave… that’s not a question!

Posted in English, Reflections at 11:33 pm by Rou...

I arrived home now after a full day family gathering to find a flood of replies to my last post on PTP, all were related to leaving Egypt and the fact that I was comparing…etc…
 
I personally find all this off topic, but, in all cases, I will write my two cents in this whole thing…
First of all, my email was merely my very own personal reflections towards a place that I visited and wanted to share what I saw/felt with you, as I always do… Nothing more, nothing less…
I am not spreading negative energy…
I am not promoting leaving Egypt, nor am I promoting staying in it…
 
Because simply leaving Egypt is not a question that one should seek an answer for… it is not something that can be gained through the effect of other people… in other words, if I am not intending to leave, then a few emails or talks or whatever will never convince me to do, and vice versa, if I am convinced I should leave, then nothing on earth would convince me I shouldn’t… this is a very personal decision that is not influenced by other people’s views… it depends on your character, your needs, your priorities… etc…
 
Regarding being positive and spreading positivity…
Well… I do believe that what we do in PTP is this exactly… when you live in a country like Egypt, with all the negative energy and frustration that one face on a daily basis, and come at the end of the day, and read about a new book, or a concert, or a movie or go for a walk or a city tour and manage to know something new, or add something to even one person, or even just enjoy and taste the beauty inside that we seem to forget about in our hectic daily life, then this is being positive, or this is how I see it at least…
 
Not being blinded on what flaws our country have, does not mean being negative or spreading negativity… on the contrary… those of you who are seeking change should know that the first step in doing any change is awareness…
 
Even the fact of comparing… for God’s sake… this is part of us as humans… I mean… you do compare who you are now to what you used to be a few years ago… Don’t you think you would subconsciously compare any place you go to the one you live in… or compare people’s attitude to your people’s… etc… trust me you will do, and guess what, there’s nothing wrong with that… some people do the comparison because they want to search for the bad thing in their country, while others do this because they want to search for good things instead… and again, it’s very personal…

Anyways… I wasn’t intending to make this a long reply, and I’m afraid that I did…
I hope I cleared things out regarding my previous post, and I will still be sending the rest of the series, so in case you’re interested, you can read them… 🙂

All the best,
Rou…

 

Leave a Reply

