November 25, 2010

My UK Trip: The Music is Here Inside my Mind!

Posted in English, Fav. Lyrics, Places, Reflections at 2:05 am by Rou...

I hear someone saying: “Now we’re talking!” 🙂
Yes, when such amazing music starts, everything else just fades away…
I’m talking about the marvelous experience of attending musicals in London Theatres…
I went to two musicals; the brilliant original “The Phantom of the Opera” in Her Majesty’s Theatre, and “Mamma Mia” in The Prince of Wales Theatre…
 
What can I say about the second-longest-running musical after “Les Misérables”, and arguably the world’s most successful musical to date…?

The truth is I really had no idea what to expect going to it as I had never been to a musical before then… But for a starter, the venue itself was amazingly beautiful… and I have to say that the idea of watching the show in the theatre where it all started was so fascinating and exciting…


From the moment the lights dimmed, I was hooked… I knew this was going to become something very special to me, and so it was, because, as maddeningly as it might seem to be, but the music awkwardly stays inside your head long after the show is over… At a point I was thinking I am being obsessed with it, just like the beautiful soprano “Christine Daaé” became the obsession of the mysterious and disfigured musical genius “The Phantom”… and, ironically, the very famous phrase in the main song of the musical “The Phantom of the opera is here inside my mind!” made perfect sense to me… for yes it is still here inside my mind…


As many of you might already know, this reputable musical is based on the novel “Le Fantôme de l’Opéra” by the French writer “Gaston Leroux”… Sarcastically, this outstanding theatrical show originally sold very poorly upon publication in a book form late 1909 early 1910, until the very famous 1986 musical turned it alive in Her Majesty’s Theatre in the West End…


Both the direction and decor were brilliant, and the performance of all the characters was incredible that you can easily feel the love, passion, pain, and sorrow… I don’t know if, to this day, I’d be able to say why it affected me so much, but there’s something different about it… something magical… it is out of this world…


So, anyways, after such an unforgettable night, we decided that we cannot miss going to another musical, and so it was through the mood-boosting “Mamma Mia”…


“A worldwide smash hit” as they call it…


Based on the songs of the legendary Swedish band; ABBA, and named after the band’s 1976 chart-topper “Mamma Mia”, this very special musical was performed for the first time in the West End at the Prince Edward Theatre in 1999 and transferred afterwards to the Prince of Wales Theatre in 2004 till this day… In 2008, it was turned into a movie starring Meryl Streep and was of an amazing success too…


This marvelous combination of a splendid performance of a story told through the magic of ABBA’s timeless songs that can easily make three different generations having the time of their lives… this marvelous combination makes Mamma Mia definitely the ultimate feel-good show…


Remember… “You can dance… You can jive… Having the time of your life…


I certainly had the time of my life in London’s most reputable theatres… and if there’s anything I regret not doing in my trip, it would be not going to more musicals… 🙂


Beautiful Night,
Rou…
Leave a Reply

