November 27, 2010

My UK Trip: Autumn Colors!

Posted in English, Places, Reflections at 11:11 pm by Rou...


Although this was one of the very first posts I wrote, but I wanted it to be the last to publish… because this is the picture I will always carry for England in my heart; a colorful place that healed my soul…


The way red trees stand next to orange ones with yellow trees in the background and evergreen ones on the other side… too many colors… too much beauty for my unfortunate soul that is accustomed to grey, dull, and smoky Cairo to take… It’s as if I’ve been living into a black and white world, and all the degrees I was able to see in between were grey colors, and then all of a sudden transferred into the amazing colorful world that autumn creates in England…


I’ve always loved Nat King Cole’s song “Autumn Leaves”… Have always stopped stunning infront of any picture taken for leaves beneath the trees and among the narrow pathways in Europe during autumn… Nonetheless I couldn’t really believe what I was seeing on my first day there… Spectacular autumn leaves literally everywhere… red, yellow, orange, bronze, and gold; a kaleidoscope of colors among a cloudy sky framing a perfect view of the beautiful British lands…


Let me tell you that there’s nothing better than skipping through a park in autumn while playing with colorful leaves into the air… My first visit to the Hyde Park was on a typical cold windy raining autumnal day; with cloudy skies and plenty of colors invading the greenery that was once there… I was pleasantly surprised with the view of the ground at some areas littered with acorns allowing the resident squirrels – not believing their luck – to run everywhere around to collect them (same happened later on my visit to London Zoo)… And as you reach the famous lake in the middle of the park, you cannot but stop stunning infront of the flocks of swans, ducks, seagulls, and much more birds species all over the place around you…


While I was filtering my photos when I came back, I stopped staring at each and every one of them wondering if I was really there and if it was me who really captured them… I mean… how come that anything be that beautiful… that colorful…


My mind, saturated with beauty, told me it was only in parks… but for God’s sake, the very first picture I took was for wet colorful autumn leaves in the corner of a narrow side street…


Beauty was just… everywhere…


One of the most wonderful nature scenes I had seen was on my way to London Zoo, where all at once I found myself crossing a bridge over a canal that I learned later that it’s called “The Regent’s Canal”, and that I was walking over what they call “Water Meeting Bridge”… I cannot possibly describe how gorgeous the scene from above the bridge was, and how even more breathtaking the walk by the narrow canal was… A scene that I cannot get out of dreams till this moment…


The colors, the smells, the cool dreary days… everything was quite simply a beautiful sight…


Yes; this is the picture I will always carry for England in my heart; a colorful place that healed my soul…


Rou…
Leave a Reply

