March 8, 2011

From the Papers of a Revolutionary Girl on Women International Day!

Posted in English, Reflections, Revolutionary and Politician at 11:47 pm by Rou...

One of the very few times in my life that I wished I was a man was during the very first days of the revolution… I was mainly thinking it would give me a better chance to help and participate specially in the days that had so much violence in, be it the Angry Friday itself when we failed to pass the area between Ramsis and Tahrir because of the unbearable bombing and bullets that was being thrown at us, or later on in the Bloody Wednesday…

On Thursday morning, very downhearted after the horrible molotof night in Tahrir that we all saw on TV and the stories I heard from my brother after he came back home that day, I received a call from a friend living in London; she was working on a project assisting the Amnesty International (منظمة العفو الدولية) on monitoring and documenting the current events in Egypt, requesting to give my number along with others to someone from the organization to call us… When their interviewer called me that day, he was asking particularly about women’s role during the revolution days… Telling him different stories and experiences we had during the preceding days, it was only then that I realized that it didn’t really matter if I was a man or a woman, for I did what I had to do, and in doing so I was of a value, and my voice and actions actually counted…


When I was talking with our fellow Templar Ola a few days after that call about this whole thing, she told me she had a similar feeling and then told me a very uplifting story that made this idea fade away and made me (listening to it) even more confident in the conclusion I reached… She told me that one of her male friends told her that at first he was very nervous from the fact of having girls with them in between the violence since he was very worried they would get hurt… but then after a while he realized how strong they were and this gave him a push, and whenever the violence got even harder and he looked back at the girls finding them more insisting, it gave him even more inspiration and power to carry on…


I was thinking that day while she told me that story that perhaps this was one of the values that we – as women – added to the revolution… we gave others hope, and this in itself counts… During the Angry Friday, I remember that when we used to ask people on the streets, buildings, and bridges to join us, and they actually come and join us, I was very thrilled, and I like to think now that perhaps they looked at us, and found in us their sisters and brothers and felt it’s home… In the days that followed when we used to go to Tahrir to deliver medicine, food, and blankets, or even when some days we couldn’t stay more than a couple of hours there, I like to think that at this particular hour we replaced someone who had to leave, and someone else would replace us when we leave…


One of the best feelings I gained through the revolution is understanding that no matter how minor your action might be, it still counts… and no matter how much you thought it won’t… it actually does…
I am glad that I participated in this revolution as a female… and I am proud of myself and of every other girl, woman, mother who took the step and dared to have a voice…


Happy Woman’s Day!
Rou…
2 Comments »

  1. amira said,

    Thanks :))
    I had the same exact feeling in the beginning ya Rou, I wish I was a man – then (with the help of ur words too) I found out that everybody has a role, and it may have a very big impact on others and life…

  2. Rou... said,

    Yes ya Amira… heya bas el7amasa betakhod elwa7ed fel awel we beyeb2a 3ayez ye3mel kol 7aga… although eno law hedy we bass kwayes hayla2y eno actually beye3mel kol 7aga momken ye3melha…


Leave a Reply

