January 2, 2011

“There is no flag large enough to cover the shame of killing innocent people!”

Posted in English, Reflections at 9:55 pm by Rou...

Needless to say how heavy hearted I am… how gloomy and dark the world seems to me…
I wasn’t actually intending to write anything regarding the disaster that happened in Alexandria in the New Year’s Eve, not because I don’t want to, but because for the first time in my life I find myself that silent, that angry, that sad, that burned from inside out, that broken… a mixture of feelings that sadly leaves me with nothing to say…


But… for some reason I decided to post something I shared here more than 2 years ago after watching Hassan and Morcos movie… I find myself willingly sharing it again; no matter how personal it is… because this is who I am, and this is how I will always be…


I have nothing more to add except a silent prayer and a hope…


Rou…
“There is no flag large enough to cover the shame of killing innocent people!”


“On January 7, 2006, my mother, my father and I attended the wedding of our neighbor’s daughter (and one of my close friends)… The very next day my father passed away…


I wasn’t home when it happened, my mother was home alone with him, and when the heart strike attacked him, she didn’t call any of us (I have 2 elder brothers), but she rather went to our neighbor who wasn’t home, but her son who happened to be a doctor was there… He – alone – moved my late dad to his own car and drove him to the nearest hospital along with my mother… however; by the time they arrived there my dad had already passed away…


The very next day, our neighbor’s daughter (the bride) and her husband came to console us before they go to their honeymoon (The very first visit she does after one day of her marriage would be wearing black!)………


Throughout the first few days after our loss, lots of people used to come to our home for condolences, and most of our neighbor’s chairs, glasses and coffee cups were at our home… She was the one who used to bring coffee beans early in the morning, prepare coffee and tea for the visitors, and organize the seats in the reception all day long before they arrive and after they leave…


And now, her daughter and son are both in the states and she doesn’t stay here long; moving between her other home in Banha and any of her children’s homes in the states… But, she still insists on keeping a copy of her apartment’s keys with us for emergencies…


I happened to be Muslim, and our neighbor happened to be Christian…


This is only one example to the thoughts that Hassan and Morcos movie triggered into my mind… it would take me pages and pages to write the rest of them down and I don’t think any of you would be interested in all this personal thoughts and memories…


I just wanted to say that I so much liked the movie, even with the direct messages it sent… See, sometimes the message has to be said out clearly… yemken elnas tebdtedy tefoo2 before it’s too late…


One last comment… as I walked out of the cinema I noticed that nobody was uttering a word………………”